Skip to content

About UWIRE

UWIRE was founded in 1994 as a print-based content-sharing system devoted to the needs of student journalists. Today, we are the world’s leading provider of student-generated media, including articles, photos, video, and audio.

Our Student Media Affiliate Program allows 800+ student media outlets to share content and facilitates inter-school collaboration. This entirely student-powered wire service generates more than 500 stories a day, including first-rate news, opinion, sports, and entertainment coverage.

In 2009, UWIRE merged with the college video network Palestra.net.

UWIRE student digital journalists receive equipment and personalized training from a full-time staff of UWIRE professionals to prepare them to shoot, edit and produce compelling, unique and journalistically sound videos.

For more: Please visit UWIRE.com and UWIREvideo.com.

General questions should be e-mailed to UWIRE General Manager Tom Orr at tom@uwire.com.

Or contact an individual editor:
News Editor: Michelle Starr at michelle@uwire.com
Opinions Editor: Steve Veres at steve@uwire.com
Sports Editor: Jim Reedy at jim@uwire.com
Arts Editor: Jill Menze at jill@uwire.com
PR Editor: Anne Dehmer at anne@uwire.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: